Dotun Oyelade

Oyo reopens 23 schools shut over land dispute

News Flash
Help Us Share This Article

No fewer than 23 schools in Atiba, Afijio, Oyo East, and Oyo West local government areas of the Oyo State that were shut 10 years ago have been reopened by the state government.

The state Commissioner for Information and Orientation, Dotun Oyelade, disclosed this in a statement on Thursday.

Oyelade said the schools were reopened following a resolution of the boundary dispute between the communities.

He stated that the age-long dispute was resolved at a stakeholders meeting held at the Western Hall, Ibadan, and was presided over by the Deputy Governor, Bayo Lawal who doubles as the Chairman of the state’s Boundary Dispute committee.

Lawal was said to have appealed to all stakeholders in the affected communities to embrace peace while warning that the government would not tolerate any act that may breach the peace of the communities.

He also enjoined the lawmakers representing the affected communities to work with traditional rulers and necessary stakeholders for a lasting solution to the dispute.

READ ALSO  Police Kill Keke Driver In Rukpoku Port Harcourt (Video)

“I appeal to you our elders and chairmen of the affected local governments to consider the future of these children. The primary reason this meeting is held is for the schools that were closed for 10 years to reopen immediately. That is the message from the governor himself.

“We have engaged all the stakeholders, community leaders, Honourable members, the chairmen of the various local governments, and we have agreed that schools must reopen in the interest of those children,” he said.

Some of the affected schools include Community Basic School Obananko, Oyo; Community Basic School Laagbe, Oyo; Pinnock Memorial Bapt School Aba Epo Oluwatedo, Oyo; Bapt Basic School Oluwatedo, Oyo; St. Luke Anglican Bada Idiyalode, Oyo; L.A. Basic School Ago Oyo; Community Basic School Igbo Olose, Oyo in Oyo West LG.

Others were Community Basic School Adebimpe, Oyo; Community Basic School Obasere, Oyo; St. Thomas Anglican School Alabi Olorunda, Oyo; St. Michael RCM Apaara Village, Oyo; Methodist Primary School Ajagba, Oyo; Bapt Central School Oniyanrin, Oyo; Bapt Primary School Aguo, Oyo; ADS Primary School Baba Elesin, Oyo in Oyo East LG.

READ ALSO  Angry Youths In Saki Oyo State Burns Down Cattle Laden Truck Over Killing Of A Motorcycle Rider

Also affected were L.A. School Lannite, Oyo; L.A. Primary School Gudugbu Orile, Oyo; L.A. Primary School Gudugbu, Oyo; ADS Primary School Aba Olori, Oyo; ADS Primary Abujakan, Oyo; L.A. Basic School Alagbon, Oyo and L.A. Basic School Imeleke, Oyo also in Oyo East LG.

Source link

Help Us Share This Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *